Chinese and Italian: The New Age Oats

This could be any mother’s story in the urban scenario. My kids love to snack on junk food, although they also enjoy nutritious stuff like spinach, lentils and cottage cheese but then fast foods like pizza, pasta, noodles always have an upper hand. 

Chinese and Italian are two such international cuisines that have made way in the Indian kitchen, let alone the restaurants or road side stalls. When I was invited to the Saffola Oats #cravenomore event in Delhi recently I had all the reasons to attend more as a mother than a blogger. My husband loves to eat oats for any meal of the day and its pretty simple to cook also but I have a hard time deciding what to cook for kids when hubby dear demands oats, reason being that my girls don’t like the plain oats upma or khicdi that is cooked at home. So when I came to know of the #chinese and #italian flavor in oats I was smiling to myself and couldn’t resist saying Eureka! to myself.  As soon as I reached the venue, The Grand in Vasant Kunj in Delhi I was pleasantly surprised as the hall looked like the replica of Master Chef set but who was going to cook when the master chefs were there to talk of their experiences, that is what I had thought.

1C5A6632

Participants dishing out creative and yummy samples using the new Chinese and Italian variants of Saffola Oats

Chef Kunal Kapoor entered the stage and talked about the new Chinese and Italian flavours that have been introduced after much research keeping in view the ‘indiansied’ taste of Chinese and Italian that we enjoy.  As he apprised the bloggers about the new tastes that will be made available in the market we sampled both the Chinese and Italian flavours and believe me it was difficult to decide which was better. Both seemed so authentic and delicious to the last bite. I am sure my daughters will love the new taste of health and whenever we plan to have oats as a meal now entire family can now pick the flavours of their choice.

1C5A6564

Fit Foodie Panelists Chef Kunal Kapoor, Chef Shipra Khanna and Chef Saransh Goila. 

Then as the afternoon progressed Chef Saransh Goila and Chef Shipra Khanna made wonderful dishes using Chinese and Italian oats as the main ingredient which were also their favourite flavours respectively. That was not all the bloggers were called on the stage through a lucky draw and were asked to identify some ingredients aka master chef style.  24 bloggers who identified the ingredients correctly had to try their culinary skills at the little counters, I too tried my hand at cooking and made penne pasta with Italian oats in white sauce, which I named as La Penne Oato, not much of a deviation from the classic recipe but then that’s what my kids love. The chefs tasted and helped the participants and judged all of us on the basis of creativity, presentation, taste and of course the use of oats was at the core of the competition.

Judged by the Fit Foodie panelists, Chef Kunal Kapur, Chef Shipra Khanna and Chef Saransh Goila, announced Adarsh Munjala, The Big Bhookad; Kumar Jhuremalani, Pet Pujaris; Saloni Malkhani, Food Bloggers Association of India (FBAI); Sayantani Mahapatra, A Homemaker’s Diary; Priya Sharma, Mumasfooddiary and Richa Gupta, Myfoodstory as the winners for the phase I. The winners from this phase will go on to Phase 2 of the competition and will participate in a ‘food-truck’ challenge in Mumbai which will be aired soon on NDTV GoodTimes. I will definitely watch the show and cheer for my fellow bloggers and may the best team win.

Post event press release for Saffola Masala Oats #CraveNoMore

Chefs and the bloggers pose for the camera

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

