A bit of Rajasthan on my platter

You’d be surprised to know that I am a very good kid when it comes to eating, for I eat my greens without any fuss. Therefore, I got this chance to do my first ever food review with my sister and of course mommy was there too.

It was an evening which I will remember for a long time to come. At The Seasonal Tastes at The Westin Gurgaon I was surprised by the flavours of Rajasthani cuisine, another reason to love this royal land.

cymera_20161018_194430

We both (me and my sister Arshiya) love Chinese and Italian cuisine but who thought about Rajasthani cuisine. It was something new for us and when mamma informed us that we would be going for a review of Rajasthani cuisine to The Westin Gurgaon we were not sure of what to expect. Of course, both of us have been to Jaipur (with parents and solo) a number of times and we have even tried Pyaaz Ki Kachori, Dal Baati Churma and Mirchi Vada at the Badi Chopar in Jaipur but what else is to Rajasthani cuisine I could not think!

But at the Rajasthani Food Festival at Seasonal Tastes at The Westin Gurgaon, I discovered a whole new meaning of Rajasthani food.

I was totally impressed with the vast variety of food – pickles, chutnies,main course and the dessert. It was a huge spread. And when Master Chef Ram Singh told us that every day he would be preparing a new menu for the festival I was surprised at the variety of the menu and was thinking how does he have so many ideas for cooking while mamma always says that she can’t think of what to cook today?

I love food and experiment with food like my Papa so I thought of trying the chutnies with some snack first. The Bhuni Lasuni Chutney tasted quite nice with chicken that was cooked with khada masala. It was mouthwatering and the chutney blended well, lending tangy flavour to chicken.

Then without wasting any more time I tried Ker Sangri which the chef told us is also called ‘Mewar ka Mewa’. Now frankly, I couldn’t understand what that meant, so I asked my mom to explain that to me. Mewar refers to the region in Rajasthan and mewa means dry fruit hence what the chef meant was that Ker Sangri is expensive and is relished as one would the dry fruits. May be, I can call it a delicacy!

I found Ker Sangri to be an awesome dish and felt more special when the chef told us that it was specially prepared for us like many other dishes that followed.

cymera_20161018_192639

By the way do you know that it retails at INR 1200 per kg.It is uaually eaten with Bajre ki Roti. I had learnt about Bajra or millet in my geography lesson and know that it is a Kharif crop (kharif means autumn in Arabic) and is harvested in winters.

cymera_20161018_193259

The next dish was Methi Dana Kish Mish, let me tell you I just don’t like cumin seeds (jeera) and fenugreek seeds (methi) in my dishes, I tell mamma it’s OK if you want to put it but it should not show itself in the vegetable or gravy, and here I was eating a whole dish made of Methi, I couldn’t believe my eyes. But definitely there was some secret ingredient which the chef had added, it was tasting yummy. I told my mom it tasted awesome and she was totally surprised, I just hope she doesn’t tell me to eat methi at home now or may be now I could eat it at home too, only time will tell 🙂

cymera_20161018_192950

But from the bottom of my heart me and my sister Arshiya would like to thank the chef, he prepared exceptional dishes for us which were so tasty. We both relish Italian, Chinese and Continental cuisine and love what our mother cooks (most of the times 😉 but never ever had imagined that Rajasthani cuisine is as beautiful as the state itself. We have travelled to Jaipur, Alwar, Siliserh and Udaipur in Rajasthan as family, and I also went for a two day school trip to Jaipur when I was 5 years old that was my first solo trip (by the way did you read about my first international solo trip to the United States of America) but had never tried authentic Rajasthani food, this was our first experiment with such a lovely cuisine and both of us liked it too.

I think more than us kids it’s the parents who are a worried lot and think that the kids will not take to new cuisines. We are the lucky ones and have inherited the traveller’s genes from our parents and so we don’t shy away from trying new cuisines. It is a possibility that we may not like all the new cuisines we may try, but would still try the new ones at least once and even if we don’t eat it again we would have definitely learnt a thing of two about the diversity of our country (Pssst…read better marks in Social Studies).

cymera_20161018_193843

 

Whats on: Spice Trail in Rajasthan

Where: At Seasonal Tastes, The Westin Gurgaon

Till When: 23rd October, 2016 (only dinner)

Kidolicious: Of course we loved the food but besides that we loved traditional dresses the uncles and aunties working there were wearing.

And also the fact that the chef told us that every day till the 23rd the entire Rajasthani menu would be changing. Wow! I mean so much variety just like the colours of Rajasthan.

Not so Kidolicious: I told mamma that while everything else was super good only if there was a dance or singing performance like I had seen in one of the hotels in Jaipur it would have doubled the fun.

And I also didn’t like the fact that I could not taste everything as my tummy was full after eating Bajre Ki Roti and Ker Sangri though I did eat a lot of sweets but there was Gatte Ki Sabji and Daal Baati Churma which I missed 😦

P.S. The writer is Cheryl Joshi, a student of class 6 and is 10 years old. The views expressed are entirely hers and we have only helped her with some bit of editing and publishing this post.

  • Read our review of Bara Darhi at The Westin Gurgaon.

 

4 thoughts on “A bit of Rajasthan on my platter

  1. I could imagine myself eating all the above dishes and the taste of Rajsthani spices and sweets.. Amazingly written once again !!!!!

    Like

  2. Hello,Thanks for sharing such nice blog about a bit of Rajasthan on my platter… I like your blog very much……….a rajathani khana have the taste such that is in comparable . people came from far places to taste of its food and culture…

    Like

Leave a Reply

